Greece name final squad for Dodoni Series

Greece name final squad for Dodoni Series


Greece coach Michael Skibbe has finalised his 24-man party to tour Australia, with no shortage of star power on offer.

Borussia Dortmund defender Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Benfica attacker Andreas Samaris and Watford defender Jose Holebas have all been selected to face the Socceroos.

Twenty-six-year-old Samaris looms as the danger man for Australia having netted twice for Portugese champions Benfica in the recently completed Liga season.

Socceroos selection the cherry on top of Stefan Mauk’s golden 2016

However, star striker Kostas Mitroglou is not in the squad.

Greece will take on Australia in a two-game series beginning on 4 June at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium before rolling onto Etihad Stadium in Melbourne on 7 June.

EVENT: Socceroos vs England LIVE on the BIG SCREEN

Goalkeepers: Orestis Karnezis (Udinese), Stefanos Kapino (Olympiakos)

Defenders: Michalis Boukouvalas (Iraklis), Vasilis Torosidis (Roma), Vangelis Moras (Verona), Marios Economou (Bologna), Dimitris Siovas (Olympiakos), Giorgos Tzavellas (PAOK), Kostas Stafylidis (FC Augsburg), Jose Holebas (Watford), Sokratis Papastathopoulos (Borussia Dortmund).

Midfielders: Andreas Samaris (Benfica), Giannis Maniatis (Standard Liege), Alexandros Tziolis (PAOK), Petros Mantalos (AEK), Panagiotis Tachtsidis (Genoa).

Attackers: Giannis Gianniotas (Apoel), Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (Sampdoria), Anastasios Bakasetas (Panionios), Apostolos Vellios (Iraklis), Dimitris Diamantakos (Karlsruher SC), Christos Aravidis (AEK), Nikos Karelis (Racing Genk), Thanassis Papazoglou (KV Kortrigk).

What are your thoughts? Let us know by dropping a comment below via our Facebook comment box. Make sure you follow us on Twitter @Outside90 and like us on Facebook.