NPL Victoria sides enter the fray as Football Victoria completes FFA Cup...

NPL Victoria sides enter the fray as Football Victoria completes FFA Cup fourth round draw


The quest of Victorian sides seeking to become the latest club to join the likes of Green Gully, Bentleigh Greens and Heidelberg United in staging a deep run into the later stages of the FFA Cup has taken another step forward, with the fourth round of the Cup competition’s draw conducted by Football Victoria on Wednesday.

The first round in which National Premier League sides enter the competition, a number of intriguing contests were drawn – albeit without producing a headline-grabbing, marquee matchup.

2018 semi-finalist Bentleigh Greens will begin their FFA Cup campaign with a trip to face State League One side Warragul United at Baxter Park while defending Victorian champions Heidelberg United will welcome State League One side Keilor Park to Olympic Village.

Current NPL Victoria table toppers Avondale FC were drawn to host State League One side Mazenod Victory as they begin their journey to attempt to replicate the 2018 heroics that eventually saw them take Sydney FC to extra time in the quarterfinals.

At least one State League Three side is guaranteed progression to the fifth round of the Cup after Upfield and Skye United were drawn to face each other at Upfield’s home of Gibb Reserve.

The lowest ranked side still alive in the Cup – State League Five’s Waverly Wanderers – avoided drawing an NPL side at their first chance; instead slated to welcome State League Three side Lalor United to their home at Carlson Avenue Reserve.

Preston Lions, perhaps the best supported of the State League sides, were drawn at home to face newly promoted NPL side Dandenong City.

Traditional powerhouses Melbourne Knights and South Melbourne – who both went out in straight sets in the 2018 iteration of the tournament – were handed a relatively straight forward task for their first hit out in 2019; South Melbourne set to welcome State League One side Essendon Royals to Lakeside whilst the Knights will welcome one time NSL but now State League Two side Mooroolbark SC to Knights Stadium.


  • Geelong SC v Essendon United
  • Pascoe Vale v Moreland City
  • Sebastopol Vikings v Murray United
  • Epping City v Brunswick City
  • Hume City v Mill Park
  • Heidelberg United v Keilor Park
  • Caufield United Cobras v Boroondara Eagles
  • Fitzroy City v Manningham United
  • Dandenong Thunder v Northcote City
  • Moreland Zebras v North Sunshine Eagles
  • South Melbourne v Essendon Royals
  • Eastern Lions v Caroline Springs George Cross
  • Avondale FC v Mazenod Victory
  • Corio v Langwarrin SC
  • Altona Magic v Box Hill United
  • Warragul United v Bentleigh Greens
  • Casey Comets v Goulburn Valley Suns
  • Kingston City v St Kilda
  • North Geelong Warriors v Richmond SC
  • Whittlesea Ranges v FC Strathmore
  • Oakleigh Cannons v Beaumaris
  • Springvale White Eagles v Eltham Redbacks
  • Ballarat City v Westgate
  • Upfield v Skye United
  • Port Melbourne Sharks v St Albans
  • Waverly Wanderers v Lalor United
  • Werribee City v Green Gully
  • Preston Lions v Dandenong City
  • FC Bulleen Lions v Sandown Lions
  • Sydenham Park v Banyule City
  • Melbourne Knights v Mooroolbark
  • Doveton v Point Cook