Where are they now? The Premier League’s original 22 clubs

Where are they now? The Premier League’s original 22 clubs [Part Two]


In February 1992, a new top division in English football was formed after club’s in the Football League First Division decided to break away from the Football League. 

During the original 1992-93 season, 22 teams competed before cutting down to the current 20 team system in 1995.

Since the inception of the Premier League, 49 clubs have battled it out in the top flight in England, with just six clubs having never been relegated.

Whilst during the 2018-19 season, there are nine teams which featured in the competition’s inagural campaign.

Here is a look at where the other 11 original teams now find themselves:

Manchester United

1992-93 finish: 1st

Current division: Premier League

The most successful club of the Premier League era, having been crowned league champions on 13 occasions. While they may not be reaching the heights of the Sir Alex Ferguson days currently, United still remain one of the biggest clubs in world football.


1992-93 finish: 21st

Current division: Championship

Boro share an unfortunate record with Crystal Palace, having been relegated from the Premier League on the most occasions with four. While they have often found a way to return to England’s top-flight they have struggled to find the consistency to stay there.

John Hendrie celebrates scoring for Middlesbrough against Leeds

Norwich City:

1992-93 finish: 3rd

Current division: Championship

Things were very different when the Premier League began as the Canaries found themselves among the European places. But as time went on they struggled to make a consistent impact on the division, suffering their first relegation in 1995. They would return to the league in 2011 before suffering relegation in 2014 and again in 2016.

Nottingham Forest

1992-93 finish: 22nd

Current division: Championship

One of the most famous clubs in English football has failed to return to the top-flight after failing to beat the drop in 1999. Since then they have battled away in the second division, while having also dropped down to the third tier. Forest also suffered relegation in the Premier League’s inaugural season and 1997.

Oldham Athletic

1992-93 finish: 19th

Current division: League Two

It has been quite the fall for Oldham after suffering relegation in 1994, having narrowly avoided the drop the previous season. The Lactics now find themselves in the fourth division in England, having suffered relegation last campaign.

Queens Park Rangers

1992-93 finish: 5th

Current division: Championship

The club’s last appearance in the English top-flight came during the 2014-15 season, a relegation which marked a third drop from the Premier League following others in 1996 and 2013. Financial issues currently surround the club as they battle to maintain their Championship status this term.

Sheffield United

1992-93 finish: 14th

Current division: Championship

United’s last Premier League appearance came in 2007, their second relegation from the Premier League – having previously suffered their first in 2007. The Blades found themselves as low as League One just two seasons ago.

Gary Pallister breaks away against Manchester United

Sheffield Wednesday

1992-93 finish:

Current division: Championship

After suffering their only Premier League relegation in 2000, Wednesday have struggled to find their way back into the top-flight often sitting in the mid-table of the Championship.


1992-93 finish: 18th

Current division: Premier League

After suffering their only relegation from the top-flight in 2005, the Saints returned in 2012 and have since made a positive impact on the division. Last season, saw the club come awfully close to returning to the Championship.

Tottenham Hotspur

1992-93 finish: 8th

Current division: Premier League

The final club to have never have been relegated from the Premier League but it hasn’t been until the last five seasons where Spurs have began to emerge as a force. In the past few seasons, the North Londoners have announced themselves as genuine title contenders.


1992-93 finish: 12th

Current division: Defunct

The club no longer is formed under the name Wimbledon after a decision to relocate to Milton Keynes was met harshly by fans. Following the move in 2003, the club was rebranded as MK Dons in 2004 with fans of Wimbledon breaking away to form AFC Wimbledon. MK Dons compete in League Two while AFC Wimbledon find themselves in League One.